Link-o-rama: What I Did on My Summer Vacation

19 08 2010

I know. It’s been quite a while since I posted anything to the blog. But the move has been made, the kinks in the new internet connection have (mostly) been worked out, and I’m falling into end of summer procrastination mode on all other work that should be done. Here’s a quick run down of some of the celebrity-related things that have been occupying my mind of late.

Kanye (and Erin) Joins Twitter
I’m honestly amazed that it took so long for Mr. West to join Twitter. His blog is already a thing of celebrity overshare legend. And Twitter’s stream of consciousness format seems tailor made for Kanye. But he has certainly made up for lost time, most notably starting a public love fest with Justin Beiber. I told you Bieber Fever knows no bounds. Inoculate yourself now, people! His tweets are just what you would expect…grandiose, egotistic, and (unintentionally?) hilarious.

Speaking of late arrivals to Twitter, I also recently joined. You can see my feed (which is nowhere near as exciting as Kanye’s, let’s be honest) on the right or you can follow me @erin_meyers. I’ll admit, I kind of like it. There’s something about the 140 character limit and the fact that following in no way implies any reciprocal commitment (unlike *coughcoughFacebookcoughcough*) that I’m getting into. Mostly just following celebrities at this point for something I’m working on, and it’s a pretty interesting window into how celeb’s attempt to control their images. More on that to come.

Celebrity Weddings
Celebrity weddings have dominated the gossip landscape this summer. Hilary Duff and Mike Comrie, John Krasinski and Emily Blunt, Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz, Carrie Underwood and Mike Fisher, to name just a few. The coverage of these, of course, paled in comparison to the big one, Chelsea Clinton and Marc Mezvinsky’s wedding in Rhinebeck, NY on July 31.

Celebrity Wedding of the Season

Chelsea’s wedding was fascinating to me for the massive amount of coverage it received from gossip media (natch) as well as the mainstream press. She never courted the spotlight and it is really her parents’ (political) star power that was the draw for the media. So suddenly all these media outlets who eschew celebrity-oriented stories as not news are falling all over themselves to find out how much she spent on port-a-potties for her guests and interviewing every resident of Rhinebeck twice to find out some tiny detail. Look, I know that celebrity content constantly bleeds into “real” news, but there is really no difference between covering Carrie Underwood’s wedding and covering Chelsea Clinton’s. It seems in this case that the fact they are political celebrities is just a gloss that somehow makes it more acceptable for mainstream media to cover it without sneering. Nevertheless, she looked amazing and did a relatively good job of keeping the celebration private. Mazel Tov!

Real Housewives of New Jersey
I really need to dedicate a post just to this show and my addiction to it. Chuck Klosterman has already written an excellent piece debunking the term “guilty pleasure,” rejecting the idea that we need to be embarrassed about any media consumption. But I think guilt is a major part of my personal pleasure in this show, because there is really so much wrong with it, and that is crucial to my weird love for it. I know it’s wrong, and that’s part of why I like it. It’s complicated. Stop judging me.

Real Housewives of New Jersey

In an interesting twist on the reality of reality TV, it seems resident villain, Danielle Staub, has been fired the show and will not appear in season three. One rumor has it the reason she will not return to the show is because she failed to bring the reality to her BravoTV.com blog about the show. Instead of addressing all the drama going down on the show that ostensibly documents her real life (and, if you don’t watch, there has been plenty this season) and giving viewers more insight, her blog posts mostly just thank people for standing by her and gloss over any of insanity. The key to this show is the gossipy nature, the idea that you get different parts of the story from the various housewives and, yay new media, get even more insight if you read their blogs. By not keeping up her end of the bargain by delivering more “reality,” she was, allegedly, canned.

I kind of want that to be the reason. More likely, however, the firing was the result of her sex tape scandals or her too-volatile-for-reality-tv relationship with the other housewives. (quite a feat in itself!) But the actual reason seems to be that she’s getting a Bethany Frankel style spin off. Which simultaneously horrifies and delights me.


Actions

Information

6 responses

22 08 2010
An Admirer

I’m glad you mentioned the coverage of Chelsea Clinton’s wedding, because one day, during a visit to the NYT page, there was this huge article about its secrecy. Prior to that, I didn’t even know CC was getting married, but like you say, it seems like all sorts of media outlets – even the *New York Times*, for crying out loud! – tracked this story.

Re Danielle Staub’s possible spin-off, any hints as to which network would air it? I presume *not* Bravo, even though the production company is the same …

23 08 2010
erinmeyers

I haven’t heard where the show would air, though I honestly wouldn’t put it past Bravo to still air it even though they booted her from RHONJ. Other than maybe E!, I can’t quite figure out where such a show would fit.

Could it be that her reality stardom (or any reality stardom?) is tied to the network or the audience? The whole RH series is so tied to Bravo, I wonder how those ladies would fare if they tried to do shows on other networks? Obviously they have other media products (books etc), but not TV shows. Would Bethanny Getting Married have worked on another network and so far removed from the shadow of RHONY? I’m not sure.

Speaking of which, though I only watch RHONJ, I really want the Real Housewives Get Personal book (http://tinyurl.com/23cu4f4) for a further taste of Bravo-sanctioned crazy. My birthday is coming up…in 3 months. 😉

27 08 2010
An Admirer

Good point about ex-Housewives perhaps having the best chances of success on Bravo. Maybe Danielle would prefer to go to another network, but Bravo might be willing to capitalize on her Bravo-generated (in)fame(y); the only thing is that they could be wary of overdoing the Housewives content (like having five franchise shows or whatever isn’t!).

Hey, are you going to live-blog the Emmys :o)?

27 08 2010
erinmeyers

I hadn’t planned on it…but now that you mention it! As if I won’t be watching. I love awards shows. Pretty much the epitome of celebrity glamor these days. Okay. I’m in, even though I’ll mostly just be talking to myself!

27 08 2010
An Admirer

Do it, do it! I’m actually invested this year (mainly around The Good Wife, Damages, and the Showtime “comedies”).

27 08 2010
erinmeyers

I will! See you here on Sunday night!