The 62nd Annual Emmy Awards: Show Time!

29 08 2010

New post for the show itself!

8:03 I’m loving the star power in the opening. And the Springsteen!

8:11 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy…my toughest category to pick! Oh, and Eric Stonestreet wins! He’s my favorite on that show, but I didn’t see this coming.

8:13 Love that John Hodgman is doing the intros again!

8:14 The acceptance speech, in general, is interesting because it does reveal the other forces behind the star as playing a role in creating the star. Thanking writers, producers, other creative professionals or even the star’s publicity team is a quick glimpse behind the controlled facade that says stars are natural phenomena. But that hardly ever gets play from the media after the speech. It’s just who won.

8:25 As if anyone but Jane Lynch could wind this one!

8:26 Thanks Jane Lynch. Now I see that actors and academics have a lot in common…we do this because we have no other marketable skills. 😉

8:28 Oh man…the last season of Oprah is upon us. This ad is already getting me choked up with its emotional manipulation. This farewell season will be bonkers.

8:38 Rewarding a new face! Nice. Haven’t really seen this show, but Jim Parsons’ clip earlier made me laugh.

8:40 I think the acceptance speech plays an important role in the emphasis on the private celeb in the moment of rewarding their public performances. Seeing a genuinely flustered actor/actress win is pretty endearing.

8:45 I haven’t seen Nurse Jackie at all. Worth watching? But I do love Edie Falco…reward for successful cross over from drama to comedy?

8:47 I’ve only gotten one category right so far (Jane Lynch)! And I didn’t do any reality picks!

8:49 Promo moment! Will Arnet and Keri Russell are in a new show on Fox this fall. But since this in on NBC, they didn’t mention that in the intro. I’m sure we’ll hear when new NBC stars are on!

8:52 Damn it Oprah! You are killing me. How much did they spend to get these spots on? It doesn’t even run on NBC (at least my Oprah doesn’t, its CBS).

8:57 Drama! Okay, time to redeem myself and get some picks right this time!

9:02 Mad Men wins writing…but I’m sticking with Lost for best series even though I personally enjoy MM more.

9:04 I’m wrong again! But happy to be wrong to see more awards for Breaking Bad. Congrats to Aaron Paul who plays Jesse on BB.

9:11 I am wrong again…but An Admirer’s dreams of a hotness qualification for an Emmy comes true! Archie Punjabi wins for The Good Wife

9:13 My head was right, Bryan Cranston wins for Outstanding Actor for playing Walter White Breaking Bad. Love him, love the show, but would not have kicked a John Hamm acceptance speech out of bed.

9:18 I’ve only gotten 2 picks out of 6 correct so far. Not a good record!

9:19 Another promo moment…Undercovers ad followed immediately by the (unknown) stars presenting an award.

9:32 Outstanding Actress in a Drama. Kyra Sedgwick with the upset. I don’t watch The Closer either.

9:53 Thought it would be Conan’s big moment. The Daily Show has been pretty hilarious lately, especially the Glenn Beck stuff.

10:04 George Clooney, the biggest star in the room, just made the distinction between star vs. celebrity. Should have used him as a source in my dissertation.

10:26 Maura Tierney looks great with the pixie haircut. Glad she is well and coming back to TV. Note that the NBC shows got mentioned in their intro. Industry promotional moment.

10:31 Definitely hitting the wall and ready for the big awards of the night, comedy and drama series. I’m also amused by the irony that I am not watching the new episode of Mad Men in order to see if Mad Men wins outstanding drama series.

10:51 Finally! Outstanding Drama Series!

10:51 Yay for Mad Men even though it means another category I lose! Last season was really spectacular.

10:54 With one award to go, will this telecast actually end on time? Miracles are possible!

10:56 Outstanding Comedy….my chance to get 3 out of 10 for my picks! C’mon Modern Family

10:57 Woo! I get 3 out of 10! My reward is I get to go to bed!

11:00 Thanks for reading along with my live blog experiment! Good night!

Actions

Information

22 responses

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Yeah, I thought all the Modern Family guys would split the vote. I don’t watch the show, but I’m sure they’re all stellar.

But anyway, JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANE! Plus she kissed her wife and thanked her onstage – yay, lesbian visibility :o).

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

I know! Oh, and here is the link to their NYT wedding announcement. They got married right by my old place when I was still there! If only I could have crashed the ceremony!

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/06/fashion/weddings/06JLYNCH.html

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Yeah, I remember talking to you about the whole Sunderland wedding!

Hey, this is the gayest Emmys ever with that comedic comedy thing they just had, with George Clooney in bed with the two MF men :o).

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

That’s true! I loved the Clooney bit!

30 08 2010
An Admirer

I really like Nurse Jackie. Edie Falco plays one of those Showtime women, i.e. flawed and yet compellingly watchable. You should definitely check it out.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

OMG – ARCHIE!!!!!

30 08 2010
An Admirer

“I’ve only gotten 2 picks out of 6 correct so far. Not a good record!”

Well, there’ve been some surprises that no one has picked (e.g. Archie 🙂 ).

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Aww, sorry, Julianna; but it’s nice to share!

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

And Kyra Sedgwick has been nominated for this before, so maybe she’s due? I don’t watch this one.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Yeah, I’m okay with Sedgwick’s win. Like Julianna Margulies, she’s also an older actress that I feel like has paid her dues.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

I can’t believe I’m posting this, but did Julianna Margulies’ eyes look really uneven to you (i.e. in a semi-botched facelift kinda way)??

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

There was something not quite right. Let’s call it bad makeup!

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Let’s hope that’s what it was!

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Snore re all the miniseries/made for TV stuff …

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

Agreed! I haven’t seen a single one of these things…but that’s because as a poor grad student I had no premium channels, which seems to be where all these come from. Remember when networks used to do mini-series?

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

But these categories are also where TV gets to act the most like the movies. Even now, still trying to prove they have the same sort of “quality” in terms of content as well as stars. Which is probably while these categories are taking forever.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

And because Al Pacino took 2 minutes to form one sentence.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

You got your 3 out of 10! Hey, is this the first year that Best Comedy was the final award instead of Best Drama?

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

I don’t know! Maybe?

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Well, The Good Wife had a sparse night despite all its nominations, but I can certainly live with the one it got :-).

The show was entertaining enough except, like I already said, the interminable stream of miniseries/mftv awards – the usual mix of teleprompter jokes and some actual funny moments. Were there any notable fashion gaffes?

Hope you had fun live-blogging – thanks and good night!

30 08 2010
erinmeyers

Personally, I thought everyone looked pretty good…fairly safe, but good. I don’t always agree with the “experts” though. For example, I’ve already heard January Jones is on the worst dressed list. I liked the dress…I think she has to go modern lest she be too confused with her character, Betty Draper. Her hair was a mess, but the dress (while a bit ill fitting) I thought was cool.

I was actually impressed by a lot of the men. Ryan Murphy (creator of Glee) was killing it in that blue jacketed Tom Ford tux. And I loved the grey tuxes on both Ty Burrell and NPH.

I’ll go read some run downs and maybe post a link.

30 08 2010
An Admirer

Yeah, men usually all look the same in their black – please, more color, guys, and you don’t even have to be gay!

Thanks again for the live blogging – ’twas fun to follow you :-).




